添加至宣传册

邻苯二甲酸酯

新版欧洲条例

欧洲指令 2007/47/EC 对 1995 年颁布的医疗器械指令 (MDD) 93/42/EEC 作出多处修订。 其中一处修订要求设备制造商对含有邻苯二甲酸酯的产品加以标明,如果需要,则需提供其他相关信息。 


医疗机械行业中,很多塑料材料,特别是 PVC(聚氯乙烯),为增加弹性或提高其他性能特征,都会添加邻苯二甲酸酯类增塑剂。 最常使用邻苯二甲酸酯的是 DEHP [邻苯二甲酸二(2 - 乙基己基)酯],若在设备材料配制中使用该材料,须符合指令 93/42/EEC 中的特定标准,并在包装上明确印有如下标识:



 

注意事项
欧盟医疗产品及医疗器械科学委员会 (SCMPMD) 于 2002 年发布了一份关于医疗设备中 DEHP 的意见书1。 委员会认为总体来讲,DEHP 的使用利大于弊。 该意见书基于对人类(乃至新生婴儿及其他接触水平较高的患者群体)副作用相关报告的不足,以及 DEHP 作为高效塑化剂带来的益处而得出。 此外,委员会还认为多数 DEHP 增塑 PVC 的替代材料,其安全数据十分有限,且存在未知(因此可能更高)的风险。

1. 欧洲委员会文件: SANCO/SCMPMD/2002/0010 Final “Opinion on Medical Devices Containing DEHP Plasticized PVC(关于含有 DEHP 增塑 PVC 的医疗设备的意见书)”

2007 年 10 月 15 日,欧盟新兴及新鉴定健康风险科学委员会 (SCENIHR) 发表了题为“The safety of medical devices containing DEHP-plasticized PVC or other plasticizers on neonates and other groups possibly at risk(含有 DEHP 增塑 PVC 或其他增塑剂的医疗设备对于新生婴儿的安全性及其他潜在风险)”的报告2。 SCENIHR 的报告采用了最新的科学数据,委员会认为尽管并无临床证据证明对人类有不良影响,但药物治疗时患者与邻苯二甲酸酯的大量接触仍需要引起注意。 与 DEHP 接触的风险主要与材料的构成、加工的类型和与患者发生接触的时间有关。 除了这些现已经证实的观点,以及对青春期前儿童 DEHP 生殖毒性存在潜在风险 (SCENIHR),还有以下几类人群接触风险较高: 早产婴儿,处于新生儿护理中的住院新生儿,青春期前的儿童,以及处于重症监护中、血液透析中或长期治疗中的青少年。 DEHP 能够刺穿皮肤及胎盘屏障,迅速汇聚于母乳中。 因此高风险人群还包括怀孕或处在重症监护中、血液透析中或长期治疗中的哺乳期妇女。

2. 欧洲委员会 - 欧盟新兴及新鉴定健康风险科学委员会 (SCENIHR) - 针对含有 DEHP 增塑 PVC 或其他增塑剂的医疗设备对于新生婴儿的安全性及对其他群体的潜在风险的科学意见书,2008 年 2 月 6 日。

英国药品与健康产品管理局 (MHRA) (www.mhra.gov.uk) 审阅了 SCENIHR 报告并认定该证据并不足以支持将 DEHP 更换为其他增塑剂。 请单击此处,了解更多信息。

生理注意事项
使用含有 DEHP 的医疗设备时,对患者个体带来风险的关键因素有:
  • 本底接触
  • 接触剂量(从每台已使用的医疗设备浸出)

患者的脆弱性(包括接触时间)多种方式可使人接触 DEHP,普通人群的第一来源是食物。 许多代谢产物排泄研究显示,所有普通人群都会接触 DEHP,这一点不容忽视。 通常来讲,通过对环境介质中 DEHP 含量进行概率测算,所得 DEHP 接触评估与尿代谢物水平中的剂量重建在相同数量级内是相吻合的。 大部分最新研究表明,目前接触量中位数为 2 至 5 μg/kg bw/day [每公斤体重每日],然而据估计 95% 为 6 至 17 μg/kg bw/day。 儿童对 DEHP 的体负荷量会比成年人略高。 有迹象显示,在最近几年中,普通人群对 DEHP 的接触有所降低。


医疗程序中,使用 PVC 医疗设备造成的 DEHP 接触,尽管通常存在于有限时间内,但是仍会造成 DEHP 接触远远高出本底水平。 甚至自愿医学治疗,如献血时的分离技术程序,都会产生 DEHP 接触。 接触程度很大程度上取决于医学治疗的类型及持续时间。 重症监护中的早产新生儿因体重原因,其 DEHP 接触量比成年人更高(10 天内每公斤体重接触量可增至 35 mg/kg)。 这种接触甚至比诱发动物生殖毒性的剂量还要高。 实际上,这意味着某些程序是没有接触限值 (MoE) 的,但是这一点却因程序带来的益处而被认为是合理的。

存在潜在接触的治疗类别包括:

  • 早产新生儿的多种程序
  • 新生儿的胃肠道外全面营养 (TPN)
  • 新生儿的体外膜式氧合 (ECMO)
  • 新生儿的换血疗法
  • 血液透析患者
  • 新生儿及成人肠道营养
  • 心脏移植或冠状动脉旁路移植术
  • 创伤患者大量输血
  • 成人 ECMO 时输血

动物及流行病研究证实了敏感患者群体的可能性。 动物研究证明了两大影响;肝脏肿瘤以及男性生殖系统的变化。 生殖毒性的 NOAEL(未观察到有害作用水平)为 4.8 mg/kg bw/day。 对于肝脏肿瘤,机械及其他领域的研究可以科学地证明,DEHP 不具有对人体产生此类影响的可能性。 然而,对于男性生殖系统,机械及流行病学调查发现都证明了男性会受到潜在危险威胁。 幼龄动物比成年动物更易受 DEHP 生殖毒性的影响。 欧盟 (EU) DEHP 风险评估 (ECB 2006) 认定,DEHP 对睾丸、生育能力、发育(肛殖距)以及肾脏(多次量)产生的影响最为严重。 妊娠期及生产后第一个月内,最敏感的器官在发育生长,这时,此类内分泌作用最为敏感。 对婴儿来说,确实存在与其他邻苯二甲酸酯接触的可能性,它们具有生殖毒性,并与 DEHP 的作用机制类似。

针对 DEHP 及其他邻苯二甲酸酯的流行病学调查结果可总结如下:

  • 胎儿发育及不良妊娠反应: 有限证据
  • 尿道下裂及隐睾症: 无证据表明存在潜在内分泌干扰作用
  • 肛门与生殖器间距离: 某一项研究中的有限提示
  • 出生体重及孕龄: 某一项研究中的不充分证据
  • 年轻女性的青春期发育: 某一项研究中的不充分证据
  • 邻苯二甲酸酯的酯含量对子宫内膜异位症的严重性的影响: 不充分证据
  • 男性生育力: 接触与妊娠时间并无联系
  • 睾丸癌: 该类癌症与 PVC 塑料接触并无联系
  • 呼吸系统健康: 邻苯二甲酸酯接触与阻塞性呼吸系统症状及哮喘存在微弱关联

据一项由 Smiths Medical 委托发表的报告评估,尽管针对 DEHP 的流行病学研究并不能在其对人类造成的不良影响之间建立一种因果关系,但是此类研究仍然引起人们对男性潜在生殖影响的关注。

通过对动物和人类数据,以及相关研究的整体分析,总结得知,孕妇胎中的男性胎儿及男性新生儿被视为最敏感人群。

尽管在某些医疗程序中,使用 PVC 医疗设备造成的 DEHP 接触水平,可能带来未成年男性生殖系统毒性,但也必须考虑治疗的迫切性,以及每次治疗中,合适替代材料的可得性。

DEHP 替代材料
毒物学数据充分证明,一些化合物相较 DEHP 而言具有更低的危害。 然而,由于缺少人类接触方面的数据,因此无法对这些替代增塑剂的风险开展评估。 而对于其他化合物,毒理学档案相关信息不足,无法确定其危害。 这使对替代增塑剂代替 DEHP 的相应评估受到限制。 每部医疗设备和每个需替代设备的医疗程序,都必须进行持续的风险和益处评估。

更新于: 2014/02/06(年/月/日)

Add to Brochure

Phthalates

New European Regulation

The European Directive 2007/47/EC makes several amendments to the Medical Devices Directive (MDD) 93/42/EEC that was implemented in 1995. One of the amendments requires the device manufacturer to now label products that incorporate phthalates and, where appropriate, to provide additional related information. 


Across the medical device industry phthalate plasticizers are incorporated in plastic materials, particularly PVC (polyvinyl chloride), to enhance flexibility and other performance characteristics. The most commonly used phthalate is DEHP [bis(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate] and, if used in the material formulation of the device and meeting specific criteria of the Directive 93/42/EEC, will be identified on the packaging with the following symbol:



 

Considerations
In 2002 the EU Scientific Committee on Medicinal Products and Medical Devices (SCMPMD) published an opinion1 on DEHP in medical devices. It was the committee’s view that overall, the advantages of using DEHP outweighed the disadvantages. This opinion was based on the absence of reports of adverse effects in humans (even in neonates or other groups of patients with relatively high levels of exposure) and on the benefits that DEHP provided, as an efficient plasticizer. In addition it was the committee’s view that safety data on most of the alternatives to DEHP-plasticized PVC were very limited and that these materials could pose an unknown (and thus possibly higher) risk.

1. European Commission Doc: SANCO/SCMPMD/2002/0010 Final “Opinion on Medical Devices Containing DEHP Plasticized PVC.”

On 15 October 2007 the EU Scientific Committee on Emerging and Newly-Identified Health Risks (SCENIHR) published its report2 on “The safety of medical devices containing DEHP-plasticized PVC or other plasticizers on neonates and other groups possibly at risk”. The SCENIHR report takes into account new scientific data and the committee considers that, despite a lack of clinical evidence for harmful effects on humans, the high exposure of patients to phthalates during medical treatment may present a cause for concern. The risk of exposure to DEHP is chiefly attributed to the composition of materials, the type of procedure and the time in contact with the patient. Departing from these current well-identified points and the potential risk of DEHP reprotoxicity in prepubescent children (SCENIHR), the population for whom the risk of exposure is heightened has been identified as: premature infants, hospitalised newborns in neonatal care, prepubescent children and adolescents hospitalised in intensive care, on haemodialysis or in long-term treatment. DEHP penetrates skin and placental barriers and concentrates itself easily in breast milk. The risk therefore includes women who are pregnant or breast-feeding in intensive care, on haemodialysis or in long-term treatment.

2. European Commission - Scientific Committee on Emerging and newly-Identified Health Risks – Scientific Opinion on the safety of medical devices containing DEHP-plasticized PVC or other plasticizers on neonates and other groups possibly at risk, 6 February 2008.

The United Kingdom Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) (www.mhra.gov.uk) has reviewed the SCENIHR report and has concluded that the evidence does not support a change from DEHP to other plasticizers. Click here for further information.

Physiological considerations
The key factors influencing the risks to individual patients, arising from the use of DEHP used in medical devices are:
  • Background exposure
  • Exposure dose (leaching from each medical device used)

Vulnerability of patients (including the time of the exposure)The general population is exposed to DEHP through a variety of routes with food being the primary source. Several metabolite excretion studies suggest a non-negligible exposure to DEHP in the whole general population. In general, DEHP exposure assessments from probabilistic calculations from DEHP measurements in environmental media and dose reconstructions from urinary metabolite levels agree within an order of magnitude. Most recent studies suggest a current median exposure of 2 to 5 μg/kg bw/day [body weight/day], whereas the 95th percentile is estimated to be between 6 and 17 μg/kg bw/day. Children may have somewhat higher body burden of DEHP than adults. There are indications that exposure to DEHP in the general population has decreased during the last few years.


Medical procedures using PVC medical devices can lead to DEHP exposures much higher than the background levels, although such exposure is typically of limited duration. Even voluntary medical treatments such as an aphaeresis procedure to donate blood products, may result in exposure to DEHP. The extent of exposure largely depends on the type and duration of medical treatment. Premature neonates in intensive care can receive even higher DEHP exposures than adults relative to their body weight (up to 35 mg/kg body weight over a 10 day period). This exposure may be even higher than the doses observed to induce reproductive toxicity in animals. In effect, this means that there is no margin of exposure (MoE) for certain procedures however, this is justified by the beneficial effects of these procedures.

Treatment categories involving a potential exposure include:

  • Multiple procedures in pre-term neonates
  • Total Parenteral Nutrition (TPN) in neonates
  • ECMO in neonates
  • Exchange transfusion in neonates
  • Haemodialysis patients
  • Enteral nutrition in neonates and adults
  • Heart transplantation or coronary artery bypass graft surgery
  • Massive infusion of blood into trauma patient
  • Transfusion in adult undergoing ECMO

The animal and epidemiological studies enable the likely sensitive patient groups to be identified. Animal studies have identified two lead effects; liver tumours and changes in the male reproductive system. The NOAEL (no-observed-adverse-effect-level) for the reproductive toxicity is 4.8 mg/kg bw/day. In respect to the liver tumours, there is good scientific evidence from mechanistic and other studies to indicate that DEHP is unlikely to cause this effect in humans. However, for the effect in the male reproductive system both mechanistic and epidemiological findings indicate a potential hazard for men. Immature young animals are more susceptible to testicular toxicity from DEHP than older mature animals. The EU (European Union) risk assessment for DEHP (ECB 2006) identified the most critical effects as on the testes, fertility, development (anogenital distance), and kidney (repeated dose). The sensitivity for such endocrine effects is highest during gestation and the first month after birth when the most sensitive organs are developing. It has to be considered that there is the potential exposure for infants to other phthalates that are toxic to reproduction, which may have similar mechanisms of action as DEHP.

The summary of epidemiological findings on DEHP and other phthalates is as follows:

  • Fetal development and adverse pregnancy outcomes: limited evidence
  • Hypospadias and cryptorchism: no evidence for potential endocrine disrupting effects
  • Anogenital distance: limited indications based on one study
  • Birth weight and gestational age: insufficient evidence based on one study
  • Pubertal development of young females: insufficient evidence based on one study
  • Phthalate ester levels affect the severity of endometriosis: insufficient evidence
  • Male fertility: no association between exposure and time to pregnancy
  • Testicular cancer: no association between this cancer and exposure to PVC plastics
  • Respiratory health: phthalate exposure correlates weakly with obstructive respiratory symptoms and asthma

Although epidemiological studies on DEHP, as assessed within a report commissioned by Smiths Medical, do not, by themselves, establish a cause-and-effect relationship for harmful effects on humans, these studies give rise to concern for potential reproductive effects in males.

From analysing the animal and human data, and related studies as a whole, it can be concluded that male foetuses of pregnant women and male neonates have to be considered as the most sensitive groups.

Although, the exposure levels from the use of PVC medical devices with certain medical procedures may result in DEHP levels that could produce toxicity to immature male reproductive systems, consideration must be given to the treatment needed and the availability of suitable alternatives for each medical treatment.

DEHP Alternatives
Sufficient toxicological data is available for some compounds to indicate a lower hazard compared to DEHP. However, a risk assessment of these alternative plasticizers could not be performed due to a lack of human exposure data. For other compounds, information on the toxicological profile is inadequate to identify the hazard. This limits the proper evaluation of the potential to replace DEHP by alternative plasticizers. The risk and benefit is continually evaluated for each individual medical device and each medical procedure in which the alternative needs to be used.

Updated: 2014/02/06 (YYYY/MM/DD)