添加至宣传册

隐私条例通知 - HIPAA

本通知将说明与您相关的医疗信息会被如何使用和披露,以及您怎样可访问此类信息。 请仔细阅读。

 
Smiths Medical (“Smiths Medical”) 承诺保证您的个人健康信息的机密性与安全性。 我们通过遵守满足或超出 1996 年修订版健康保险携带和责任法 (“HIPAA”) 的要求的隐私政策及程序,保护您的受保护健康信息,即 PHI。
 
本通知将说明我们如何使用及披露您的 PHI。 本通知也将说明您如何访问自己的 PHI 以及 HIPAA 规定您享有的其他权利。 请注意,我们会随时修改我们的隐私条例及本通知。 若对本通知或 HIPAA 规定的您的权利有任何问题,请按照本通知结尾处所列地址及电话号码联系我们的 HIPAA 隐私官。
 
何为 PHI?
PHI 指您的识别信息,或与您的过去、现在或将来身体或心理健康或状况的信息,以及您享受的相关卫生保健服务及支付方式的信息。 与您的 PHI 有关并能对您进行识别的相关信息,同样受到保护。 此类信息包括,比如您的社会保险号,您的电话号码或其他分配的其他识别编码。
 
SMITHS MEDICAL 如何使用披露 PHI
Smiths Medical 通常仅会出于促进优质医疗、保障您治疗的保险报销及进行公司内部操作的目的使用或披露您的 PHI。 使用或披露 PHI 的更多详细说明如下。
  • 治疗。 为了履行、调整和管理您的卫生保健及相关服务时我们会使用并披露您的 PHI。 例如,若在使用您的医生单独为您开出的定制产品进行治疗的过程中出现问题,我们会向其咨询,只有在必要时,我们才会共享您的 PHI。
  • 支付。 通常我们并不提供由患者直接支付的卫生保健产品。 我们希望此类情况不会经常发生,但是必要时,我们会使用并披露您的 PHI,来获取我们提供的卫生保健产品的支付款项。
  • 运营。 为支持我们的商业活动,我们会使用并披露您的 PHI。 此类活动包括但不限于,质量评估及改进活动、商业计划以及管理和普通行政活动。 例如,我们可能会使用您的 PHI 来评估产品的性能,决定如何改进我们的产品,解决投诉并评估我们员工的表现。

请注意,上述例子仅为说明,因为我们无法将每一种使用或披露 PHI 的可能情况完全列出。

我们使用并披露您的 PHI 的其他原因

为向您提供最好的服务,同时遵守各种公共健康及法律要求,Smiths Medical 可能会出于其他原因使用或披露您的 PHI。 此类原因包括:
 

    业务伙伴。 我们的业务伙伴会为我们工作,或代表我们开展一些活动。 例如,我们的业务伙伴可能包括已签约教育工作者、第三方管理人员以及会计事务所。 我们与业务伙伴已签订合同,要求他们根据法律要求保护您的 PHI。

    参与您的治疗或为您的治疗支付费用的相关个人。 除非您另有说明,我们会将您的 PHI 告知您的家庭成员、亲属或私人朋友,或告知任何您指定的人。 我们只会将您的 PHI 透露给参与或支付您的卫生保健的相关人员。

    教育和信息。 虽然我们通常并不因产品而联系患者个人,但是我们会使用或披露您的 PHI,来告知您所感兴趣的医疗相关的福利与服务,或发送医生为您定制的产品的相关信息。

    政府机构。 为遵循联邦药物和医疗设备法律,以及其他管理卫生保健产品及服务运输和支付的法律,我们会向食品药品监督管理局或美国卫生和公众服务部的其他机构披露您的 PHI,或与受此类机构司法管辖的其他方共享信息。

    公共健康。 根据法律要求,我们会向负责预防或控制疾病、伤害或残疾的公共卫生或法律机构披露您的 PHI。

    法律执行。 按照法律要求出于执法目的,或为执行有效传唤或其他法律程序,我们会披露您的 PHI。

    健康监管活动。 我们可能按照法律要求,向监管机构披露您的 PHI。 监管活动包括业务相关、政府监控卫生保健系统和政府项目、州法律和联邦法律合规性的审计、调查和检查等活动。

    司法和行政诉讼。 如果您涉及诉讼案件或纠纷,我们会应法院指令或行政命令要求,披露您的 PHI。 如果收到传票、证据透露请求或纠纷另一方提出的其他法律过程,我们也会披露您的 PHI,前提是我们已保证尽力告知您相关的请求或已向法院请求保护您的 PHI 信息。

    员工赔偿。 我们为遵守员工赔偿等类似项目相关的法律,或在其授权下,会对您的 PHI 进行披露。

    研究。 如果研究已获得机构审查委员会或隐私委员会的批准,并说明已有成熟协议保护信息隐私,同时放弃 HIPAA 下的个人授权要求,我们才会向研究员披露您的 PHI。 我们也会按照 HIPAA 规定,向研究员发布“限定数据集”,数据中已删除您的姓名及其他大多数识别信息。

    为避免对健康或安全构成严重威胁。 如果您或他人的健康或安全受到严重威胁,包括疾病爆发、产品召回或对特定人员构成可识别威胁,此时我们必须采取防范措施,则会使用并披露您的 PHI。

    验尸官、法医和殡仪员。 如果需要确认死者身份或判断死亡原因,必要时我们将您的 PHI 披露给验尸官或法医。

    器官或组织采集。 我们可根据适用法律,将您的 PHI 披露给器官采集组织或器官采集、储备入库或移植的相关机构,用于组织捐献和移植。

    虐待受害人。 如果有理由认为您是被虐待、受忽视或是家庭暴力的受害人,我们将向政府机构披露您的 PHI。

    国家安全。 我们会将您的 PHI 向已授权联邦官员披露,用于情报及法律授权的其他国家安全活动。 其中包括对政府官员及外国政要的保护行动。

    军人和退伍军人。 如果您是部队人员,针对军事指挥当局认定必要的军事行动,应其要求披露您的 PHI。

    惩教机构。 如果您已是或成为惩教所犯人,为了您的健康或他人健康和安全,必要时我们会将您的 PHI 披露给惩教机构或其执法人员。

PHI 的其他用途或披露原因
Smiths Medical 在事先获得您的书面批准后,或者经法律批准或应法律要求,才会使用或披露您的 PHI,用于上述原因外的其他原因。 您也可以授权他人(如家人)作为您的代表,代表您对 PHI 进行管理等行为。 通常而言,家长和监护人有权对其监护的未成年人的 PHI 进行管理。
 
您也可以随时以书面形式撤销授权。 收到您的书面撤销通知后,我们将停止使用或披露您的 PHI,除我们已按照您的授权执行的部分。 如需撤销授权,请将您的书面撤销请求和要撤销的授权副本(如果没有副本,也可以是对授权的详细描述,需包括日期)发送至 HIPAA 隐私官,地址在页面下方。
 
您的健康信息权利
您对个人 PHI 拥有某些权利。 如果您对如何行使这些权利存在任何疑问,请联系 HIPAA 隐私人员,我们将指导您执行相关流程。 您拥有如下权利:

  • 获得该通知的副本。 如果我们直接向您提供治疗或设备,您将有权利获得本通知的书面副本。 在这些情况中,我们将在向您发送新病患信息包,或第一次向您交付卫生保健产品时,发送本通知。 我们会让您在收到通知后,回复 Smiths Medical 回执表,表示通知收到。 如果我们通过其他卫生保健供应商(如医生、医疗诊所或医疗设备供应商)间接向您提供治疗或设备,您将随时有权利通过联系隐私联系人,要求获得通知副本。
  • 申请限制使用和披露 PHI。 您可以要求我们限制使用或披露您的 PHI。 但是,未规定我们必须同意您的限制要求,除非在少数情况下,涉及健康计划披露时,您全额支付供应商提供的卫生保健服务。 如需要求此类限制,必须向我们的 HIPAA 隐私联系人发送书面请求,地址位于本通知末尾处。
  • 检查并获取 PHI 副本。 只要 Smiths Medical 对 PHI 具有维护职责,您有权利从我们的“指定记录集”中查看和复制 PHI。 指定记录集通常包括账单记录、产品服务及我们获取到关于您的任何限定医疗信息。 如需查看或复制此类信息,必须向我们的 HIPAA 隐私联系人发送书面申请,地址位于本通知末尾处。 我们将收取为满足您申请所花费的复印、邮寄和供应费用。 在少数情况下,我们可能拒绝您的申请,这时您可以要求我们重审拒绝申请。
  • 申请修正 PHI。 如果您认为 Smiths Medical 维护的 PHI 不完整或不正确,可以申请修正。 如需申请修正,必须向我们的 HIPAA 隐私联系人发送书面请求,地址位于下方。 您必须说明有利的申请原因。 如果我们拒绝修正,您有权对我们的决定提出反对陈述,但我们可能驳回您的陈述。
  • 获取对 PHI 披露的解释。 您有权利获得过去六年我们做出的任何 PHI 披露的解释,不包括对治疗、费用或卫生保健操作的披露(除特定情况)。 该解释不包括某些披露,如直接对您的披露、您授权的披露、对参与您的治疗的朋友或家人的披露,以及出于通知目的的披露。 如需获得该解释,必须向我们的 HIPAA 隐私官提交书面申请,地址位于本通知末尾处。 申请必须说明您的要求解释的时间段(最长期限为六年)。 如果在十二个月内您不止一次发出解释申请,则需要为该服务付费。 我们将提前告知您相关费用,届时您可以选择撤销或修改请求。
  • 要求通过其他方式或向其他地点进行 PHI 通信。 您可以要求我们通过非常规方式通信。 例如,您可能要求我们仅通过书面方式,或发送至不同的地址或邮政信箱与您通信。 我们可满足任何合理要求。 如需通过机密方式进行 PHI 通信,必须向我们的 HIPAA 隐私联系人提交书面申请,申请地址位于本通知末尾处。
HIPAA 规定的 SMITHS MEDICAL 责任
本通知已说明,为保护您的隐私,Smiths Medical 需要依法履行以下责任:
  • 法律要求我们确保受保护健康信息的隐私性,为客户提供隐私信息使用通知。 特定情况下,如果发生 PHI 未授权披露,我们也要按规定通知他们。
  • 使用或披露您的 PHI 时,我们仅可披露必要使用或披露的信息,不可包括其他信息。 某些情况下,意味着我们仅可披露无法完成身份识别的信息。
  • 在本通知生效阶段,我们应遵守其条款。

  • 我们保留更改本通知条款的权利。 如果这样,我们将使修正通知适用于 Smiths Medical 维护的所有健康记录,无论记录是在通知修正前还是修正后创建的;发出申请的客户可看到更改;并在网站上发布修正通知副本。
投诉 
如果您认为隐私权以任何方式受到侵犯,可向 HIPPA 隐私官书面提出投诉。 我们将尽力及时处理投诉。 您还有权利向美国卫生和公众服务部部长进行投诉。 任何情况下,我们绝不会因提出投诉而对您实施打击报复。
 
生效日
本通知自 2011 年 11 月 30 日生效。
 
HIPAA 隐私联系人员
如对 Smiths Medical 隐私政策和条例存在任何疑问或疑虑,请联系我们的隐私联系人员:
 
HIPPA Privacy Officer
Smiths Medical
1265 Grey Fox Road
St. Paul, MN 55112
USA

电话: (+1) 651.628.7057

Add to Brochure

Notice of Privacy Practices - HIPAA

This Notice describes how medical information about you may be used and disclosed and how you can get access to this information. Please review it carefully.

 
Smiths Medical (“Smiths Medical”) is committed to keeping your personal health information confidential and secure. We will protect your Protected Health Information, or PHI, by maintaining privacy policies and procedures that meet or exceed the requirements of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, as amended (“HIPAA”).
 
This Notice describes how we may use and disclose PHI about you. This Notice also describes how you may access your own PHI and other rights you have under HIPAA. Please note that we may change our privacy practices and this Notice at any time. If you have any questions about this Notice or your rights under HIPAA, please contact our HIPAA Privacy Officer at the address or phone number listed at the end of this Notice.
 
WHAT IS PHI?
PHI is information that may identify you and relates to your past, present, or future physical or mental health or condition and related health care services that you receive and how you pay for them. Related information that might identify you in connection with your PHI is also protected. This information would include, for example, your Social Security number, your telephone number or other identification numbers assigned to you.
 
HOW SMITHS MEDICAL MAY USE AND DISCLOSE PHI
Smiths Medical will usually use or disclose your PHI only for purposes of promoting quality treatment, securing insurance reimbursement for your care, and conducting our own company internal operations. Here are more specific descriptions of how we may use or disclose PHI:
  • Treatment. We may use and disclose your PHI to help deliver, coordinate and manage your health care and related services. For example, we may consult with your physician in connection with custom products he or she may prescribe specifically for you of if questions arise in the course of using our products in providing care to you but only if sharing your PHI is necessary under the circumstances.
  • Payment. We generally do not provide health care products for which patients make payments directly. While we expect such circumstances to arise infrequently, we may nevertheless use and disclose your PHI, as necessary, to obtain payment for the health care products we provide.
  • Operations. We may use and disclose your PHI in order to support our business activities. These activities may include, but are not limited to, quality assessment and improvement activities, business planning, management and general administrative activities. For example, we may use your PHI to assess the performance of our products, determine how to improve our products, resolve complaints, and assess the performance of our staff.

Please note the above examples are for illustration purposes only since we cannot describe every possible use or disclosure.

OTHER REASONS WE MAY USE AND DISCLOSE YOUR PHI

Smiths Medical may use or disclose your PHI for other reasons in order to provide you with the best service possible and to comply with various public health and legal requirements. These reasons include:
 

    Business Associates. Some activities are performed for us, or on our behalf, by our business associates. For example, our business associates may include contracted educators, third party administrators and accounting firms. We have contracts with our business associates requiring them to protect your PHI as required by law.

    Individuals involved in your care or payment for your care. Unless you instruct us otherwise, we may release PHI about you to a family member, relative, or personal friend, or any other person identified by you. We will disclose only your PHI which is relevant to the person’s involvement with your health care or payment.

    Education and Information. While we do not typically contact individual patients regarding our products, we may use or disclose your PHI to inform you about health-related benefits and services that we provide and that we think may be of interest to you, or to send you information relating to custom products that we make for you under your physician’s orders.

    Government Agencies. We may disclose your PHI to the Food and Drug Administration or other agencies in the US Department of Health and Human Services, or share information with parties regulated under the jurisdiction of the these agencies, for purposes of complying with federal drug and medical device laws and other federal laws regulating delivering and paying for health care products and services.

    Public Health. As required by law, we may disclose PHI about you to public health or legal authorities charged with preventing or controlling disease, injury, or disability.

    Law Enforcement. We may disclose PHI about you for law enforcement purposes as required by law or in response to a valid subpoena or other legal process.

    Health oversight activities. We may disclose PHI about you to an oversight agency as required by law. Oversight activities may include audits, investigations, and inspections related to our business and for the government to monitor the health care system, government programs, and compliance with state and federal laws.

    Judicial and administrative proceedings. If you are involved in a lawsuit or dispute, we may disclose PHI about you in response to a court or administrative order. We may also disclose PHI about you in response to a subpoena, discovery request, or other lawful process by another party involved in the dispute, but only if we are satisfied that efforts are first made to tell you about the request or to obtain a court order protecting the PHI.

    Workers Compensation. We may disclose PHI about you as authorized by and as necessary to comply with laws relating to workers compensation or similar programs.

    Research. We may disclose PHI about you to researchers when the research has been approved by an institutional review board or privacy board that has determined there are established protocols to protect the privacy of your information and waives the individual authorization requirements under HIPAA. We may also release to researchers a “limited data set”, as permitted by HIPAA, consisting of data stripped of your name and most other identifiers.

    To avert a serious threat to health or safety. We may use and disclose PHI about you when necessary to prevent a serious threat to your health and safety or the health and safety of another person, which may include disease outbreaks, product recalls or identified threats to a particular person.

    Coroners, medical examiners, and funeral directors. We may release PHI about you to a coroner or medical examiner, when necessary to identify a deceased person or determine cause of death.

    Organ or tissue procurement. Consistent with applicable law, we may disclose PHI about you to an organ procurement organization or other entities engaged in the procurement, banking, or transplantation of organs for the purpose of tissue donation and transplant.

    Victims of Abuse. We may disclose PHI about you to a government authority if we reasonably believe that you are a victim of abuse, neglect, or domestic violence.

    National security. We may release PHI about you to authorized federal officials for intelligence and other national security activities authorized by law. This may include disclosures necessary for the protection of government officials and foreign dignitaries.

    Military and veterans. If you are a member of the armed forces, we may release PHI about you as required by military command authorities for activities they deem necessary for their military mission.

    Correctional institutions. If you are or become an inmate of a correctional institution, we may disclose PHI to the institution or its agents when necessary for your health or the health and safety of others.

ANY OTHER USE OR DISCLOSURE OF PHI
Smiths Medical will obtain your written authorization before using or disclosing PHI about you for any purposes other those described above, or otherwise permitted or required by law. You may also authorize others (e.g., family members) to act on your behalf, including controlling your PHI. Parents and guardians will generally have authorization over the PHI of minors under their care.
 
You may revoke an authorization in writing at any time. Upon receipt of your written revocation, we will stop using or disclosing PHI about you, except to the extent we have already taken action in reliance on your authorization. To revoke an authorization, please send your request in writing with a copy of the authorization being revoked (or, if not available, a detailed description of the authorization including the date) to our HIPAA Privacy Officer at the address below.
 
YOUR HEALTH INFORMATION RIGHTS
You have certain rights with respect to your personal PHI. If you have any questions about how to exercise these rights, please contact our HIPAA Privacy Officer, and we will guide you through our procedures. You have the right to:

  • Obtain a copy of this Notice. If we provide treatment or equipment to you directly, you have the right to receive a written copy of this Notice. In those situations, we will provide you with our Notice either when we send you a new Patient Information Packet or upon our first delivery of health care products to you. We will ask you to acknowledge receipt of the Notice by sending back an acknowledgement form to Smiths Medical. If we provide treatment or equipment indirectly to you through another health care provider (such as a physician, medical clinic, or medical equipment supplier), you will have the right at any time to request a copy of this Notice by contacting our Privacy Contact Person.
  • Request a Restriction on Use and Disclosure of PHI. You may ask us to limit our use or disclosure of your PHI. However we are not required to agree to your requested restrictions except in limited circumstances involving disclosures to health plans when you pay the provider in full for health care services provided to you. To request such a restriction, you must send a written request to our HIPAA Privacy Contact Person at the address shown at the end of this Notice.
  • Inspect and obtain a copy of PHI. You have the right to review and copy PHI in our “designated record set” for as long as Smiths Medical maintains the PHI. The designated record set usually contains information about billing records, product service, and any limited medical information we may have about you. To review or copy this information, you must send a written request to our HIPAA Privacy Contact Person at the address shown at the end of this Notice. We may charge a fee for the costs of copying, mailing, and supplies necessary to fulfill your request. We may deny your request in certain limited circumstances, in which case you may request us to review the denial.
  • Request an amendment of PHI. If you believe that PHI maintained by Smiths Medical is incomplete or incorrect, you may request an amendment. To request an amendment, you must send a written request to the HIPAA Privacy Contact Person at the address shown below. You must include a reason to support your request. If we deny your request for amendment, you have the right to file a statement of disagreement with our decision and we may give a rebuttal to your statement.
  • Receive an accounting of disclosures of PHI. You have the right to receive an accounting of any disclosures of your PHI made by we have made in the last six years not including disclosures for treatment, payment, or health care operations (except in certain circumstances). This accounting will exclude certain disclosures, such as disclosures made directly to you, disclosures you authorized, disclosures to friends or family involved in your care, and disclosures for notification purposes. To request an accounting, you must submit a written request to our HIPAA Privacy Officer at the address shown at the end of this Notice. Your request must specify the time period covered by your request (which can include up to six years). You may be charged for this service if you make more than one request within a twelve-month period. We will notify you of the cost in advance and you may choose to withdraw or modify your request at that time.
  • Request communications of PHI by alternative means or at an alternative location. You may request that we communicate with you other than through our normal means. For example, you may request that we communicate with you only in writing or at a different address or post office box. We will accommodate any reasonable request. To request confidential communication of PHI about you, you must submit your request in writing to our HIPAA Privacy Contact Person at the address shown at the end of this Notice.
SMITHS MEDICAL’S DUTIES UNDER HIPAA
As described in this Notice, Smiths Medical has the following obligations under the law with respect to protecting your privacy:
  • We are required by law to maintain the privacy of protected health information and to provide our customers with notice of our privacy practices. We are also required to provide notice to individuals in certain circumstances in the event of an unauthorized disclosure of their PHI.
  • Whenever we use or disclose your PHI, we are required to disclose only that necessary for the purpose of the use or disclosure and nothing more. In some cases, this means that we will use or disclose only information that does not identify you.
  • We are required to abide by the terms of this Notice while it is in effect.

  • We reserve the right to change the terms of this Notice. In that event we will make the revised notice applicable to all health records maintained by Smiths Medical, regardless of whether the records were created before or after the revision to the Notice; make the changes available to our customers on request; and post a copy of the revised notice on our website.
COMPLAINTS 
If you believe your privacy rights have been violated in any way, you may file a complaint in writing with our HIPAA Privacy Officer. We will attempt to resolve your complaint promptly. You also have the right to file a complaint with the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. We will not retaliate against you for filing a complaint under any circumstances.
 
EFFECTIVE DATE
This Notice is effective November 30, 2011.
 
OUR HIPAA PRIVACY CONTACT PERSON
Any questions or concerns relating to Smiths Medical’s privacy policies and practices should be directed to our Privacy Contact Person::
 
HIPPA Privacy Officer
Smiths Medical
1265 Grey Fox Road
St. Paul, MN 55112
USA

Telephone: (+1) 651.628.7057